If you're tempted to eat a burger during lent, you don't have to deny yourself! The solution is eating a vegetarian burger. These spinach torrejas, for example, can be eaten between to burger buns with all the usual toppings found on a classic burger (lettuce, tomato, sauce and more). They're also delicious served on salads or a mountain of quinoa, drenched in Greek yogurt.
The best part of these torrejas is not just its taste and texture, or the fact that its vegetarian, but it's also gluten free. The flour used for this recipe is made from garbanzo beans instead of flour, so even those with an aversion to gluten can enjoy them. If you have guests over during lent, serve them as part of the buffet so everyone can serve what they want.
© 2019 ®/TM General Mills All Rights Reserved