We support you, just not your browser.

Your browser hasn’t been updated in a while. For a better experience, we recommend upgrading to the latest version of IE, Google Chrome, Firefox, or Safari.

Ver en Español
  • Facebook
    47
  • Pinterest
    38
  • Save
    9
  • WhatsApp
  • Print
    51

Spinach Torrejas

  • Prep 20 min
  • Total 20 min
  • Ingredients 8
  • Servings 5

Ingredients

1
teaspoon coconut oil, plus 1 tablespoon
1/2
white onion, chopped
1
clove garlic, minced
4
cups washed and chopped spinach
1/4
teaspoon ground cumin
Salt and pepper
2
eggs
1/2
cup chickpea flour

Nutrition Information

NUTRITION INFORMATION PER SERVING

Serving Size: 1 Serving
% Daily Value
% Daily Value*:
Exchanges:
Free
*Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet.
No nutrition information available for this recipe

Expert Tips

Instead of spinach you can use kale or chard. For either option, you'll have to remove the stems, as they're too hard for this recipe.

If you're tempted to eat a burger during lent, you don't have to deny yourself! The solution is eating a vegetarian burger. These spinach torrejas, for example, can be eaten between to burger buns with all the usual toppings found on a classic burger (lettuce, tomato, sauce and more). They're also delicious served on salads or a mountain of quinoa, drenched in Greek yogurt. The best part of these torrejas is not just its taste and texture, or the fact that its vegetarian, but it's also gluten free. The flour used for this recipe is made from garbanzo beans instead of flour, so even those with an aversion to gluten can enjoy them. If you have guests over during lent, serve them as part of the buffet so everyone can serve what they want.

If you don't have chickpea flour use whatever you have. You can also experiment with mashed potato, sweet potato or yucca.

Directions

  • 1 Heat 1 teaspoon of oil in a medium saucepan over medium heat. Add the onions and garlic, cook while stirring constantly until browned (7-8 minutes).
  • 2 Add the spinach, cumin, salt and pepper and stir well until the spinach is cooked. Turn off the stove.
  • 3 Mix the eggs with a fork in a large bowl. Add the flour and sautéed spinach then mix well.
  • 4 Heat 1 tablespoon of oil in a large saucepan over medium heat.
  • 5 Cover your hands in flour and form 4-6 burgers with the spinach and egg dough, 2-3 tablespoons each, then place them one by one in the pan.
  • 6 Flip them after 3 minutes and cook by applying pressure with the spatula for a few more minutes on the other side.
  • 7 Transfer to a plate covered in paper towel to absorb the excess oil.
  • 8 Serve with a salad or as a side for any other dish.

If you're tempted to eat a burger during lent, you don't have to deny yourself! The solution is eating a vegetarian burger. These spinach torrejas, for example, can be eaten between to burger buns with all the usual toppings found on a classic burger (lettuce, tomato, sauce and more). They're also delicious served on salads or a mountain of quinoa, drenched in Greek yogurt. The best part of these torrejas is not just its taste and texture, or the fact that its vegetarian, but it's also gluten free. The flour used for this recipe is made from garbanzo beans instead of flour, so even those with an aversion to gluten can enjoy them. If you have guests over during lent, serve them as part of the buffet so everyone can serve what they want.

Rate and Comment

Morena Escardo Morena Escardo
September 9, 2015

If you're tempted to eat a burger during lent, you don't have to deny yourself! The solution is eating a vegetarian burger. These spinach torrejas, for example, can be eaten between to burger buns with all the usual toppings found on a classic burger (lettuce, tomato, sauce and more). They're also delicious served on salads or a mountain of quinoa, drenched in Greek yogurt. The best part of these torrejas is not just its taste and texture, or the fact that its vegetarian, but it's also gluten free. The flour used for this recipe is made from garbanzo beans instead of flour, so even those with an aversion to gluten can enjoy them. If you have guests over during lent, serve them as part of the buffet so everyone can serve what they want.